Versys Forum

Please login or register.

News: Join Now ! Members have access to areas that guests cannot see.



Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] [NO] [MY] Topic: How on earth do I tighten the top box plate on Mk 3 GT?  (Read 306 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Beans

  • Versys Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • City / Town: STOCKPORT
  • Country: gb
As per subject, if pictures are required I will add. I have a Mk 3  with the Kawasaki luggage. I can't for the life of me see how to tighten the top box carrier. The plate the top box sits on has a bit of free play. However the bolts are covered by the carrier itself so I can not get to the heads

Online McVicar

  • Versys Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 355
  • Berrow, Somerset
  • Bike: 2018 GT
  • City / Town: Berrow, Somerset
  • Country: gb
Re: How on earth do I tighten the top box plate on Mk 3 GT?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2020, 08:41 AM »
Mine's the same. Had the box and rails off but seems like it's designed to have a bit of play.

Online 100milesaway

  • Versys God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1785
  • Bike: Versys 650 MK3
  • City / Town: Leyburn
  • Country: gb
Re: How on earth do I tighten the top box plate on Mk 3 GT?
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2020, 08:48 AM »
It's  fine, they are designed like that. Leave well alone.  :028:
What would you rather be, or a wasp?

Offline Beans

  • Versys Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • City / Town: STOCKPORT
  • Country: gb
Re: How on earth do I tighten the top box plate on Mk 3 GT?
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2020, 10:15 AM »
Thank you folks.

Online McVicar

  • Versys Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 355
  • Berrow, Somerset
  • Bike: 2018 GT
  • City / Town: Berrow, Somerset
  • Country: gb
Re: How on earth do I tighten the top box plate on Mk 3 GT?
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2020, 10:47 AM »
Yeah, didn't notice mine at first. Fitted top box brake light and removed rack so I could run the wires out of sight. Noticed the movement when replacing and realised there was no way to tighten it further so guessed it was a design  function. Although why, I have no idea.

Offline klekid

  • Versys Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
  • 50 chr max
  • Bike: 16 Versys 650 GT
  • City / Town: Hazelbury Bryan
Re: How on earth do I tighten the top box plate on Mk 3 GT?
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2020, 04:01 PM »
Yup it's normal.  :027: I posted a similar query on here when I bought mine.
"If you want to go quickly, go alone. If you want to go far, go together".

Online 100milesaway

  • Versys God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1785
  • Bike: Versys 650 MK3
  • City / Town: Leyburn
  • Country: gb
Re: How on earth do I tighten the top box plate on Mk 3 GT?
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2020, 04:33 PM »
*Originally Posted by McVicar [+]
Yeah, didn't notice mine at first. Fitted top box brake light and removed rack so I could run the wires out of sight. Noticed the movement when replacing and realised there was no way to tighten it further so guessed it was a design  function. Although why, I have no idea.
Aerodynamics allegedly.  :027:
What would you rather be, or a wasp?

Offline Shandy

  • Versys Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 556
  • Support Your NHS
  • Bike: 19 Versys 650 GT
  • City / Town: Bexley, Kent
  • Country: gb
Re: How on earth do I tighten the top box plate on Mk 3 GT?
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2020, 04:27 PM »
Don't know when Kawasaki started designing their carriers like this (or GIVI did) but I first saw it on my Triumph Tiger 800 top bow back in 2014.

The idea is to try and reduce the affects of cross winds when carrying luggage...apparently.

either way, yes definitely leave it alone!! It is supposed to do that
A Motorcycle Is For Life, Not Just Sunny Days!